“Vivid, emotionful and meaningful” are perfect words to describe the 2020 South Korean psychological, romantic K-drama: It’s okay to not be okay. The drama is also known as “Psycho but It’s Okay”.


Love the message of It’s Okay Not to be Okay? Shop our merch here.


In an era when many people are dealing with depression, emotional disorders, and other psychological issues, this Kdrama explores a variety of topics while incorporating interesting and thought-provoking “children’s fairy tales “written by author Ko Moon-young, a successful children book’s author with a troubled past.

Other main characters in the story are Moon Gang-tae, an orphaned caregiver working at a psychiatric hospital, and his autistic older brother Gang-tae.

It’s Okay to not be Okay
Moon Gang-tae, Gang-tae and Ko Moon-young.


Moon Gang-tae lives with his autistic and very artistic sibling, Moon Sang-tae. Sang-tae witnessed their mother’s murder and due to trauma, forces the brothers to relocate constantly. Gang-Tae works as a caretaker in psychiatric wards in every city where the brothers settle. In an attempt to buy his brother a copy of author Ko Moon-young’s latest young’s children’s book, he has an odd encounter with her. Ko Moon-young is a well-known children’s book author who suffers from antisocial personality disorder.

Gang-tae begins working at the OK Psychiatric Hospital in Seongjin City, the same city where the brothers and Moon-young grew up. Meanwhile, after understanding that their pasts are connected, Moon-young develops a romantic infatuation on Gang-tae. She joins him in Seongjin, where the three of them gradually begin to heal each other’s emotional wounds while revealing numerous secrets.

Possible spoilers

Throughout the series, we learn that the brothers are fleeing from their troubled past, which is somehow linked with Ko Moon-young’s past as well. Each episode covers one of Ko Moon-young’s fairy tales, while showing what really happened in each of the main characters’ past.

Ko Moon-young’s fairy tale books

This series explores how they all work together to heal each other’s metaphorical wounds and scars acquired over the years. This beautiful story shows that not being okay is actually totally normal and that things can become better with a little bit of help.

We would wholeheartedly recommend this series because of the meaningful messages and artworks featured throughout the 16 episodes.



The main characters are portrayed by:

Kim Soo-hyun as Moon Gang-tae

Seo Yea-ji as Ko Moon-young

Oh Jung-se as Moon Sang-tae