The School for Good and Evil is a 2022 film adaptation of the book with the same title, and was released on 18 October by Netflix. The book series is written by Soman Chainani and the first book was released in 2013.

On 14 May 2013, the first novel in the series was released. The series is set in the Endless Woods, a mythical vast setting. The original trilogy (known as The School Years) follows Sophie and Agatha’s adventures at the School for Good and Evil, an enchanted institution where youngsters are groomed to become storybook heroes or villains, respectively. The second trilogy (The Camelot Years) follows Agatha and her true love King Tedros as they ascend to the roles of Queen and King of the legendary land of Camelot, and the story of Sophie as she re-invents Evil. On 2 June 2020, the final book in the original series was released.

The main characters are portrayed by Sophia Anne Caruso as Sophie, Sofia Wyle as Agatha and Jamie Flatters as Tedros. Many famous actors also star in the film. Charlize Theron (Mad Max: Fury Road, Monster, Bombshell, Snow White and the Huntsman, Prometheus) as Lady Lesso, Kerry Washington (Scandal, The Prom, Fantastic Four, Django Unchained, Black Panther) as Professor Dovey, Michelle Yeoh (Crouching Tiger, Hidden Dragon, Memoirs of a Geisha, Avatar 2) as Professor Anemone and Laurence Fishburne (John Wick, The Matrix, Man of Steel and Batman vs Superman) as the School Master.

Image from Netflix

Many topics are explored in this narrative, including self-discovery, self-acceptance, romance, and true friendship.

If you like stories with a lot of fantasy and drama, this is the film for you – it is filled with fairy-tale references.

The School for Good and Evil Movie Synopsis:

Best friends When Sophie and Agatha are carried away from their dismal lives and placed in a magical school where aspiring heroes and villains are trained to protect the balance between good and evil, they find themselves on opposing sides of an epic struggle.


The Books:

There are a total of 8 books in the series and 1 movie.

The School for Good and Evil Series

The School for Good & Evil (2013)

Miserable Sophie asks to be sent to the enchanted land where The School for Good and Evil is located, and her desire is fulfilled. A twist occurred, and Sophie and Agatha, her best friend, were both taken to the school of good and evil. They both find themselves on opposing sides of a bitter struggle. To preserve the balance between Good and Evil, they receive training to become aspiring heroes and villains.

A World Without Princes (2014)

Agatha and Sophie have resumed their previous lifestyles in Gavaldon. Agatha secretly longs for Tedros and misses him. This sets off a string of unexplained attacks on Sophie that threaten the entire village and force the two girls to flee. When they get at the School for Good and Evil, they discover that it has changed its name to the School for Girls and Boys. Tedros is seeking retaliation against Sophie at the School for Boys for allegedly snatching his true love. Evelyn Sader, a former Evil history teacher at the School for Girls who was expelled years earlier because she thought she was the School Master’s true love, is now the Dean. Sophie is almost sent back to Gavaldon after Agatha kisses Tedros. Sader, on the other hand, charms Sophie into kissing the School Master by implanting a bit of his soul in her before she is deported.

The Last Ever After (2015)

Following the kiss between Sophie and the School Master, all the previous fairy tale villains are granted a second chance because Evil has been seen to be capable of love. They swiftly seek out and assassinate their heroes, eroding the barrier between the world of readers and the world of fairytales and endangering both worlds. The sun starts to melt as the barrier deteriorates. Agatha and Tedros rescue Sophie after fleeing Gavaldon, and they also find Excalibur, which they require to remove a ring Rafal (the School Master) gave Sophie that turns her soul into the darkest Evil and keeps him alive. Sophie declines and goes back to Rafal; on the night the sun will entirely melt, the two sides start preparing for battle.

Quests for Glory (2017)

The fourth-year quests that were expected of them were started by the pupils at the School for Good and Evil. Agatha and Tedros’ objectives require them to attempt to restore Camelot to its former grandeur as queen and king. Dean Sophie’s goal is to change Evil into something she can control. The long-time companions must cooperate to defend the Endless Woods when a shadowy villain known only as “the Snake” appears and terrorizes the countryside.

A Crystal of Time (2019)

A fake king has assumed control of Camelot, sentenced Tedros to die, and made Sophie his queen. Only Agatha is able to get away. Before all of their fairy stories come to a deadly end, Agatha and the students at the School for Good and Evil must figure out a way to put Tedros back on his throne and save Camelot.

One True King (2020)

Tedros must succeed in three challenges that his late father King Arthur devised in order to establish that he is the real ruler of Camelot. The pretend king Rhian, who has the support of the entire Woods, is pitted against him. In an effort to complete his father’s tests and free the Endless Woods from Japeth’s rule, Tedros wanders the Endless Woods while remaining covertly with Agatha, Sophie, and his School for Good & Evil friends.


Prequel series

Rise of the School for Good and Evil (2022)

Rafal and Rhian, the twin school masters, have successfully co-ruled the School for Good and Evil for many years. Rafal, the Evil School Master, decides to attempt to balance the scales after a run of Good victories. The attempts cause a wedge between the brothers, endangering the harmony between Good and Evil in the Endless Woods.

Fall of the School for Good and Evil (2023)

Two brothers, One Good, One Evil, rule the School for Good and Evil. Loyalty is tested, bonds broken. Who will survive? Who will die? The journey started a hundred years ago nears its end. This final chapter in the duology brings the tale to the brink of war with a shocking conclusion.

Looking for more awesome books to read? Click here.